

April 18, 2013

Councillor Claire Moglove re-elected as Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities director

Councillor Claire Moglove was re-elected to the executive of the Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities (AVICC) at its annual convention, which took place in Sooke from April 12 to 14.

AVICC is an association of local elected officials drawn from communities and regional districts on Vancouver Island, the Sunshine Coast and the Central Coast.

"AVICC is an important organization that provides a vehicle for mayors, councillors, electoral area directors and First Nations representatives to come together to educate ourselves on various topics affecting local government – and to discuss, debate and ultimately lobby on those issues," says Councillor Claire Moglove.

Moglove reports that issues discussed at the recent convention included BC Ferries rates, sea level rise and its impact on local government planning, oil spill response, private forest land management, local government finance, carbon offsets, coastal forests and community forests, fibre supply for the forest industry, BC Hydro operations and planning, genetic engineering in agriculture and shoreline spawning habitats.

"I look forward to continuing to participate in the process as we work with senior levels of government and other non-governmental agencies to address these and other local concerns, " Moglove says. "I also hope to promote forums and panel discussions at future AVICC conventions so that elected officials from all of our communities can share their experiences in dealing with the myriad of issues that we have in common."

The AVICC 2013-14 executive includes: President: Mayor Larry Cross, Town of Sidney First Vice President: Councillor Cindy Solda, City of Port Alberni Second Vice President: Councillor Barbara Price, Town of Comox Electoral Area Representative: Director Mary Marcotte, Cowichan Valley Regional District Directors-at-Large: Councillor Claire Moglove, City of Campbell River Councillor Meagan Brame, Township of Esquimalt Councillor Andrew Mostad, District of Lantzville Past President: Chair Joe Stanhope, Regional District of Nanaimo

XXX

Contact: Councillor Claire Moglove

250-203-7250