

August 1, 2012

Community Partnership Committee members appointed

At its July 24 meeting, Campbell River City Council appointed the following seven people to its Community Partnership Committee: Bruce Baikie, Lynn Bendickson, Scott Cessford, Lesia Davis, Terry Jacques, Barry Watchorn and Kevin Weighill.

The members will serve on the Community Partnership Committee from Aug. 1, 2012 to March 31, 2015. One of the committee's first tasks will begin in early September when it reviews permissive tax exemption applications and submits its recommendations to Council in time for the required bylaws to be adopted prior to provincial deadlines.

"For the past six years, Council has relied on the Community Partnership Committee to provide recommendations on applications for grants-in-aid and permissive tax exemptions," says City Clerk Peter Wipper.

On June 12, Council endorsed a new committee structure that included re-appointing individuals to the Community Partnership Committee.

- 30 -

Contact: Peter Wipper, City Clerk

250-286-5707